ICTD and blogging

For many yearsI’ve been researching  how people in developing countries use information and communication technologies (ICTs) to improve their lives…and here I am with my first blog post.

The ICT and Development field has a number of great research blogs. That said, two observations strike me as interesting  — One, most of the blogs I follow for work are outside the “ICTD” arena.  This is the stuff I think is very relevant to understanding the current and future of ICTs in developing countries.  And two, most of my ICTD research colleagues don’t have blogs. I have no idea whether our field is ahead or behind other academic disciplines, but I would certainly think we should be at the forefront of using 2.0.

With that I’ll start writing and make my small contribution. I’ll be covering  ICTD of course, but also anything else that I find tangentially intersesting.

2 Responses

  1. Yay! Great first post. Looking forward to the next one. Also can’t wait to hear how your team’s first “blogging breakfast” (or whatever you decide to call it) turns out. One blog a week…. you can do it 🙂

  2. I honestly think our field is behind other disciplines. Not only in diffusion (or blogging / diffusion 2.0 terms), but on its sheer definition as a discipline.

    Welcome on board 😉

Leave a Reply

